Don’t delete anything!!!

Published April 21, 2012 by S. E. Myers

I’ve spent this past week with my fingers super glued to my laptops keyboard finish this book.  Since I do not have an outside editor, I am doing line-by-line editing myself.  It could turn into utter failure, but I doubt it.  Not to toot my own horn (but I will) I have a fairly strong grasp of the English language and of its grammar.  My English professor even said so.  (And yes, I am sticking my tongue out at my monitor – and starting my sentence with AND)

 

My deadline – the 27th.  It takes about 72 hours for the book to be available, well, at least that is what the instructions say.

 

I am quite proud of  how my story looks.  Even more than that, when I read through certain passages, I am surprised with the flow of it and how it all makes sense.

 

When writing, I don’t edit until later – if I am finished with a paragraph or sentence and it does not make sense – I highlight it, bold it, italicize it – that way I can change it later.  I don’t want to delete anything until I am absolutely sure it is complete and total tripe.

 

Don’t even delete anything!!!

 

If you think for one moment that you are going to start over from scratch, save that file.  I have an “Idea” folder that I am constantly adding to.  One liners, paragraphs, 30,000 words, Screenplays.  Stories that I started and never finished.  Ideas that have blown through my mind while working on Dark Revelation.  They are all in that folder marked “for later use.”

 

Those little scraps that have been tossed aside will come into play.  I will even submit some of those short stories to some cool websites for review.

 

One man’s trash….  well, is this woman’s treasure.

Leave a Reply

