Good day today…for at least half of it.

Published July 8, 2012 by S. E. Myers

Decided that I would go to the library with my book and see what the process was for them.  Meaning, did they need to purchase my book separately or could I donate it?

One worker explained that if I donated my book, they would sell it instead of adding it to their collection.  Luckily, she directed me to the librarian.  Wonderful lady!  She asked for two copies to be donated which I will GLADLY do.  She said that they will include a “local author” sticker inside and then add it to the library.  One will stay in the North Highlands library, and the other copy will be sent to the central library.  She did mention that if another library borrows my book that it will stay at that library when it is returned.

I think I will be providing them more than two copies.  That really made my day.

And then…

In my neighborhood, a black cat we named “Lucy”, has prowled about for the past six years or so.  We have fed it when it looked thin, watered it, pet it, combed it, and I even was allowed to clip its nails once.  July 4th my daughter called me out to the carport when she was taking out the garbage – Lucy did not look good.  She/he looked as if someone kicked its face, or it was hit by a car.  It was weak and drooling profusely.  Lucy normally drooled when happy but this was not good drool.  His/her fur was matted and chest was matted with either vomit, drool, or blood.

I called Animal Control and they advised me they could come out and pick up Lucy.  I left to a party with my daughter and the boys we were watching for the week.  When we came back home (HOURS later), a note was taped to my door instructing me that I needed to trap the cat in a cage.

At one time, a few years ago, I attempted to put Lucy in a crate with the intention of adopting this stray — Lucy was not happy.

Long story short, we were finally able to take him/her to the SPCA.  Lucy was weak and was eating the food I made.  I ensure the food I left out was softened by water added to it.

Lucy’s jaw was no better and it looked as if teeth were missing and the lip was torn.  I am not sure if Lucy will be put down, or saved and adopted out.  I know that I did the right thing because if Lucy continued to suffer, the onus would have been mine.

xxoo

One comment on “Good day today…for at least half of it.

  • I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade content
    from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing
    abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal site now 😉

  • Leave a Reply

