Comcast woes…

Published July 14, 2012 by S. E. Myers

I don’t know how long it has been since I have had regular consistent internet service.  Initially, when Comcast connected my house to the line almost 7 years ago, they had to dig a ditch.  The hub they connected me to is approximately 60 – 70 ft from my home.

It wasn’t but a few months later that my cable started pixelating and losing signal.  This was to be expected, of course.  We (my mom and I – when she was still living in California), contacted Comcast and they installed a booster.  A booster that plugged into my electricity and jumped the weak signal that we received.  This worked for some time, however, the cable modem would ALWAYS disconnect and then have to reboot.

The reboot would happen during peak hours. I lived with it.  Don’t live with it.  Trust me.  It is very annoying.  Especially if you play video games, like this gal, right here *pointing thumbs to chest*.

Eventually, the disconnection periods grew longer and longer and I finally resolved to contact Comcast.  I shook my fist, picked up the phone, dialed the Comcast number, and waited on hold for TEN minutes!  Okay… I lied.  I opted to have them call me when I was first in line for the next representative.

They sent a technician out who confirmed to me, which I explained on the phone, it was their problem — not mine.

(side note/) I worked in tech support some time ago and had to laugh when I spoke with a tech rep who told me my router was too close to my modem and that was causing connection loss. (/side note)

This happened in May.  I lived with this for many months prior to the long connection loss episodes.  I believe I am a total masochist.  I suffer the pain and it is glorious!

There is a local supervisor assigned to a specific area.  Our local area supervisor determined the problem was the line, MY line, was connected to the wrong hub.  Apparently, there is a hub in the backyard of the house behind mine.  That is where my line should have connected to.  An order was put in, my house was rewired, another trench dug, voila, Fin’!  Right?  Wrong!

The contractors Comcast hired, in their infinite wisdom, spent time and money digging a trench 100 ft away because they didn’t notice the big orange cone in front of the fence marking the hub the line should connect to.

I found this out because the T.V. in my room was pixelating…again.  I contacted Comcast, they sent a tech, he wanted to install a booster.  I became a little irate, he mentioned where the line was connected, I was further irate – a Supervisor came to my home apologizing profusely promising me riches beyond my wildest imagination.  I would get a large credit, etc… promise, broken promise… it’s seriously exhausting.

So, the line was fixed.  In the mail, I get two free movies.

I call Comcast.  They award me a month free DVR service.

At some point in the past, I added a phone line to my Comcast package because I thought it would be loads cheaper.  It was cheaper.  Recently, I needed that other phone line to work momentarily and it did not work – not when it was supposed to.

I pick up the phone, contact Comcast, complain, explain the previous situation.  I am awarded $68 bucks, a year free DVR service, and a Comcast appointment today.

Technician comes out, replaces my cable modem hub, tells me I am NOT paying for their blast service (Blast is the 20 mb download service I “thought” I was paying for and turns out I wasn’t).

I call Comcast and am now awaiting a phone call from a Supervisor on Sunday.

When I run a speed test now – it shows between 9 mb – 30 mb download.  My phone is now working but the cable internet signal drops out.

I seriously want more than a year free DVR and $68 dollars.

I will wait and see what happens.

The key thing is, I did not yell, I did not scream, I did not fight, argue, spit, or cry.  I was nice, I was courteous, I was friendly.  Mostly because I practiced deep breathing techniques and realized that the person I am speaking to on the phone is not the responsible party.

I will keep you updated, pray I don’t lag when I play my game tonight, I need to reach out and kill things.

 

One comment on “Comcast woes…

  • I use an off-brand carrier, River City Internet Provider (RCIP), which is a DSL carrier. They are slower than Comcast, but customer service is quick and precise. Two observations I have had with Comcast service is that 1. their customer service tends to be surly, and 2. Different parts of the operation do not talk to each other.

  • Leave a Reply

