Writing is a lonely life…

Published July 18, 2012 by S. E. Myers

When I started on this journey, I didn’t realize at the time how lonely it would be.

Writing isn’t a team sport, at least mostly.  Unless you collaborate and then that can become a whole other animal.

I used to be a very social person.  Not that I am anti-social now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not  – but – I don’t involve myself with other people like I used to.  Instead I watch them.  Creepy right?

I am a people watcher, not a people talker.  I watch the way they move their body when they talk, the expressions on their faces, the way they take a breath and sigh thinking no one is watching.  And then in my mind I describe each movement.  I guess you could call it a non-writing exercise.  I take notice of the little things.  I file it away in my brain and then insert them into a character later on.

You know where I am right now?  I am in my make-shift office/bedroom.  My kids are in the living room and I can hear Illeana’s boyfriend Joe commenting about a game they are playing.  If you would like to know what game it is, it is Dante’s Inferno.

***

I had to place this entry on pause because I had other things to do, including taking my youngest daughter to an activity.  But here I am again, at my laptop, allowing my characters to talk to me.

They keep me company.

3 comments on “Writing is a lonely life…

  • I’ve been feeling the same way about my writing lately. It makes me very observant, but kind of a wallflower. It’s hard to stop analyzing and get involved sometimes. It’s much easier to live in my head when I’m not exactly sure how to interact in a given situation.

  • I know how you feel about watching people. I often will watch people and make mental (and sometimes written) notes of something someone said or did in order to put it in a story.

  • Leave a Reply

