On Fibromyalgia

Published July 28, 2012 by S. E. Myers

Fibromyalgia.

I loathe it.  I detest it.  I try to pretend I don’t have it but it is there.  On days when I don’t want it to, it rears its ugly head, makes its presence known, and wants to control my mind and my body.  I fight it.  Hard.

It kind of ticks me off when I see people use it as an excuse.  Scratch that.  It REALLY ticks me off when someone uses it as an excuse.  I see these people with their fake fibromyalgia.  How do I know it’s fake?  Because they only have it when it is convenient.  Let me tell you, it is not flipping convenient.  It is the most inconvenient, sometimes debilitating, infuriating, exhausting, disorder.

Yes, it is a disorder because it is not a disease.  It is a miscommunication between the pain receptors and neurons in my brain.  Maybe they need a mediator.

There is no cure.  This is the best website I found to describe the condition.

Fibromyalgia is so much more than just pain.  I can’t stand when I hear or read of someone constantly complaining about one part of their body hurting or other conditions and attaches a Fibromyalgia stigma.  “Um, excuse me?” (tap, tap, tap the shoulder) “Fibromyalgia doesn’t just stay in one spot in your body, have you been diagnosed?  Or have you been self-diagnosed?”

It took 10-years to diagnose me with this condition.  Several doctors, blood tests, physical therapy, medication… I was looked at like some crack seeking addict.  It was humiliating.  I found the most amazing doctor.  He referred me to a rheumatologist, who tested my blood for other anomalies, and then finally diagnosed me with Fibromyalgia.

Now, there are so many things that tie in with this disorder:  dry mouth, dry eye, irritable bowel syndrome, insomnia, sleep disorders, CFS (Chronic Fatigue Syndrome), tension headaches, migraines, RLS (Restless Leg Syndrome), Joint Pain, inflammation, tender points…

Like I said, it sucks.  I have a pretty high pain tolerance.  Which I guess is good having fibro and all, but at the same time, when I am in pain — I am down for the count.  One of the tender points I have resonates from my clavicle through my arm.  That makes it difficult to perform a majority of tasks.  I fight through it.  (I almost wrote threw — sometimes I do feel like throwing things).

If you suspect you have it, see a doctor.  Don’t just assume you have it.   I’ve noticed it becomes an every day excuse and makes life for those of us that do have it, much more difficult.  If you want pain pills just to have pain pills and use Fibromyalgia as an excuse  — go to rehab.  You make it difficult for those of us that do have the condition to get appropriate help without being looked at as a hopped up drug seeking crack whore (pardon my french).

I take three types of medication and multiple vitamins. I stretch, meditate, breathe, and try to get my body moving every waking moment.  I function the best I can to live my life.

7 comments on “On Fibromyalgia

  • I am sorry for all you have endured with this, Ms. Myers. But I admire your strength and honesty in posting about the disorder and your relationship with it. I sense that your words will go far in providing others with the strength they need to carry on in times of pain and/or hardship – whether from Fibromyalgia or not. I wish you all the best~

    Truly,
    Rachel

  • Thanks for being willing to pour out your heart. I have severe fibromyalgia and spend days in bed, have constant pain, fatigue most of the time, and all the rest so I know what you mean. Sometimes when people find out what I have they will say “Oh, I know someone with fibro and they take “blah-blah-blah or do “blah-blah-blah” and they are able to live a pretty normal life, able to work with no problem. Shame on them!!! It is very frustrating.

      • First, I admire your courage. I have a problem with people and chronic diseases: Not the sufferer, but others who do not feel and therefore dismiss.

        Why do the rest of us have to “blow it off” or assume that it (the condition) does not exist just because the symptoms are not visible?

        It seems to me that everyone has some sort of chronic something, so it is up to us to use that “thorn in the flesh” to empathise (sic) with one another. I do not have Fibro, but have a chronic thing of my own and I have experienced the ignorance of the medical profession, and the “pat -on-the-head” comments and the airs of condescension passing for the pablum of sympathy. I have often found that the social hurt masks and surmounts the physical pain.

        Be that as it may, I do honestly honour and admire you, Stephanie, and each of you that post hereon for the example of quiet courage you show day after day, week after week. You are my heros.

        Thank-you
        Val White

  • I too have Fibromyalgia. My daughter forwarded this to me and I am fed up with people saying I look well – how can I be “sick”? Don’t you wish they could walk a mile or even a kilometer in your shoes?

    • I have to say, sometimes I do. But then again, there are days I wouldn’t wish this on my worst enemy. Just because we don’t look sick doesn’t mean we aren’t. And, just because we are sick doesn’t mean we are all the time. Fibromyalgia is tough to explain to someone who believes that in order for something to be real, it has to be seen. There are many disorders that do not manifest themselves on one’s physical surface. This is just one of many.

      And, I detest the Fibromyalgia commercials for Lyrica. It makes it seem that every person that has Fibro is older than 50 and Lyrica solves it. It doesn’t, and they are even now finding juvenile Fibromyalgia.

  • Leave a Reply

