The crash of 2012….

Published September 12, 2012 by S. E. Myers

Tuesday I took my laptop with me to work in order to complete an assignment for my professional development class.  At about 2 PM PST, my laptop went black.  This was not a covert operation, this was my laptop, dead, telling me it needed to be restored.

My heart fell on the floor, my stomach lodged in my throat, and my eyes welled with tears.  I went to school that evening, explained the situation, and my Professor was okay with my assignment being late.

Then came the arduous task if formatting my laptop.  I am so grateful that HP has a utility that allowed me to backup my data.  I have all of my pictures and documents, including Dark Inhibition, It took me from 10:15 PM to 3:00 AM to get the computer to where I could leave it overnight.  When I woke up the next morning, only 3 hours later, I could login to the windows screen and begin the restoration process.

Initially, I thought my backup didn’t save because it gave me an error message, but luckily, I looked in the C:/System Restore folder and found my backed up folder.  Last week I had a niggling sensation that I should back up my data, however, I didn’t listen to it.  I will be listening to my inner intuition for sure.

The awesome thing is I did not lose my WIP’s.  What a relief.

Also, I got another great review — but I will be posting that later.

One comment on “The crash of 2012….

  • Leave a Reply

