Flash Fiction (Unwanted Gifts)

Published October 8, 2012 by S. E. Myers

I’ve entered two flash fiction contests this weekend.

One through Grub Streets, that if I win, I could win a Kindle Fire.  I want one of those.  Terri-bad.

Here is Unwanted Gifts: << click this and vote for me!!!

I hated this time of day.  The moment before ownership of the sky passed to the moon.  This was when they were strongest.  Whispering to me.  Taunting me.  Begging for my help.  If I gave in to the pleadings of spirits passed, they would never leave me alone.

Mama always told me I had a gift.  I had a knowing.

There were moments I was tempted to reach my voice out and console them, but fear clamped my throat shut.  I watched without watching.  I couldn’t give in and allow them to know I could see them.

The aerial acrobatics they displayed was an intricate web of dance designed just for me.  An infinite sadness grabbed hold of my chest and pulled its reigns tight.

The light shifted and more apparitions seemed to appear.  I must have stumbled upon some gathering place.  It wasn’t intentional.

I had taken my evening walk and instead of taking my normal route, I took a short cut through the park.  As the sun cast its colors across the sky in shades of pinks and orange, my heart increased speed.  I knew I might get caught in that glimmer.  It never lasted long, but if caught in it, it could last an eternity.

I continued to watch them.  I realized I wasn’t pretending any longer and could sense they were onto me.  A white cloudy tendril drifted toward me and sang a sad melody.  Images flashed through my mind of its last moments.  All it wanted was one last goodbye.

I could feel the tear roll down my cheek leaving a trail of guilt behind.  I closed my eyes for a moment willing my voice to come.  It still caught in my throat.

“I’ll do it,” I whispered.  “I promise, I will.”

One comment on “Flash Fiction (Unwanted Gifts)

Leave a Reply

