Swirling Memories

Published November 19, 2012 by S. E. Myers

It’s always the same. The road I’m on. One foot in front of the other. Blisters burning, heels cracking, and chapped lips licked by my dry tongue.

The dust continues to swirl around me chaffing my skin.

When you think of the end, you don’t imagine this. A dust bowl filled with the remnants of shattered memories. All wasted moments end up here. All in the swirling sands of time.

Grabbing a handful of sand, reflections of a childhood long forgotten sifts through my fingers. Shards of forked roads swarm my vision with what could have been and what was instead.

Too much regret and indecision.

I press forward in my journey, taking a refreshing gulp of air filling my lungs with a renewed sense of hope.

Shimmering mirages of tomorrow whisper promises of adventure. The sand takes shape and lush meadows birth beneath my feet. The wind cools the harshness of the heat my skin endured. With one thought, a change takes place, and endless possibilities replace the hopelessness. I breathe a sigh of relief with the realization that nothing is written in stone and destiny can change with a blink.

The road lays before me untraveled. One foot in front of the other, I continue to tread. One foot in front of the other, the road may be the same, but the scenery has changed.

Leave a Reply

