Another Big Thing!!!

Published December 5, 2012 by S. E. Myers

Thank you to Kim Emerson of MKSP for linking me back to “The Next Big Thing” blog hop!

What is the working title of your book?    The Body Thief

Where did the idea come from for the book?  From the darkest recesses of my mind.  I am not sure where it came from, but it started out with Andie sitting in a chair waiting for someone to come through a door.

What genre does your book fall under?  This book would be classified as fantasy with a hint of paranormal and science fiction.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?  For Andie, definitely Mila Jovovich.   On a side-note, I’ve written screenplays so when scenes come to me, I always see them as a movie playing out in my head.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?  I can’t write a one-sentence synopsis, but I can write one paragraph from Andie herself, “We all make our own choices.  We carve our own paths – our own niches.  I’m on my own journey.  I will offer you a word of warning – if you cross my path the wrong way – I’ll be the one to continue pressing forward through the quicksand.  I will win.  And, when I get to the other side, I won’t look back to save you.  But I will make sure you end up where you are supposed to be.  Because if we do meet, I am your destiny.”

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?  This book will be represented by MKSP, more than likely.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  It took three months and I am still slowly working on it.  I don’t have a lot of time.  I work, go to school, and am a single mother.  I spend whatever other time I have between my family, homework, and my children.  Whatever is left over (including breaks and lunch at work) on writing.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?  Maybe the Rachel Morgan series by Kim Harrison if I am so bold.  And, I think I am.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?  Where does inspiration come from?  My brain works on a million different levels at times and sometimes there are moments and scenes that pop in and play out if I let them.  This was one of those moments.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  This book also has a science fiction feel.  There are a lot of moving parts to this story.  I’ve created a dystopian society with an overflowing prison population and part of the reason for break-outs and escapes, ties in the creation of containment. (Did I pique your interest?)

And now, tagging fun!  Take a moment to visit these blogs.  They are great author’s and have helped me a lot on my way.  I rely on them for advice and they have become my friends.

Todd Brown – http://twbrown.blogspot.com/

Donna Dillon – http://authordonnadillon.blogspot.com/

Laurie Boris – http://laurieboris.com/

Nicole Storey – http://nicolestorey.wordpress.com/

These guys are great and have insightful posts and are HUGE supporters and proponents of the independent author community.

Leave a Reply

