Disability Fiasco

Published June 5, 2014 by S. E. Myers

I am so fed up with dealing with this short-term disability process.  I was admitted into the hospital May 12th, and had I known that I would have difficulties from my gall bladder surgery, I would have notifed everyone ahead of time, but it didn’t happen that way and I wasn’t aware of the full process.  Now I am being penalized because of it.  I was paid too much and have to pay back my work.  State disability is now denying my claim because my employer “paid me in full.”  On top of that, I might owe my disability management company money also.  This is so frustrating.

Now I have to appeal it, and by the time I get this all straightened out, I’ll be out for an additional surgery.  I almost don’t want to go ahead with it because I am afraid my pay will be all screwed up…again.

It’s a good thing I have a secondary income with my spouse or I would be in the welfare line.

Technically, I shouldn’t even be at work.  I am not fully recovered.  I am still in pain but I am grinning and bearing it because we need me to work.

I get to speak with an attorney today regarding my hospital and gall bladder ordeal because we possibly have a case.  This is the first time I have ever pursued legal action.  I should have – a few times in the past.

My husband is amazing.  I am a ball of nerves and he says to relax and we will just work with what we have and move forward.  I am so blessed to have met and married that man.  He doesn’t even know how much I appreciate him. 

Leave a Reply

